John Mettrick - Fellow of the Institute of Meat

The awards were established to honour the achievements of students, apprentices, businesses and learning providers who have achieved excellence and demonstrated commitment to building the skills needed to secure the future of the UK meat industry.

Thirteen awards were presented at the ceremony, which took place at Tallow Chandlers Hall, London, on Tuesday 23rd February 2016.

Chief executive of the IoM, Keith Fisher, presided and the awards were presented by The Master of the Worshipful Company of Butchers, Patricia Dart.

In addition, certificates were presented to three newly awarded Institute of Meat Accredited Master Butchers (MB.Inst.M): Maurice Stephenson, Roger Anderton and James McPhie.

Fellowship status was also awarded to former PTF director general Clare Cheney, John Mettrick of Mettrick’s Butchers and Patricia Dart.

Keith Fisher said: “It is both an honour and a pleasure to recognise the up-and coming talent in our industry today. Each one of our winners has worked hard to equip themselves with the skills they will need to do well in the meat industry and it is rewarding to see so much commitment, ambition and determination to succeed from the next generation of meat industry professionals. I congratulate each and every one of them and shall watch their career progress with interest in the years to come.”

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published